Holding Space

for disabled and chronically ill opera artists in Canada

Against a textured light blue background, a purple line drawing depicts stylized speech bubbles, while at the top of the graphic are logos for Loose Tea Music Theatre and Opera Mariposa. Purple text reads, Holding Space for Disabled and Chronically Ill Opera Artists in Canada. Next session Thursday, December 2, 2021 at 1pm PT / 4pm ET. With automatic captions; ASL interpretation on request by November. ASL sponsored by Tapestry Opera. Learn more and register for free at LooseTeaMusicTheatre.com or OperaMariposa.com.

Thursday, December 2, 2021 on Zoom

at 1 pm PT / 2 pm MT / 3 pm CT / 4 pm ET / 5 pm AT

Loose Tea Music Theatre and Opera Mariposa are teaming up to present the second of four sessions in our ‘Holding Space’ series for disabled and chronically ill artists in the Canadian opera industry. Join us online to network, foster dialogue and build community in a safe, supportive space – or share your thoughts anonymously ahead of time!

Supported by ASL sponsor Tapestry Opera.

Who is invited?

Canadian opera artists, arts workers, creators and students (at home and abroad) who identify as disabled/living with a disability or chronic illness. This includes artists with invisible disabilities or health conditions, including mental illness; neurodivergent artists; artists with undiagnosed disabilities; and artists who aren’t sure whether they’re “disabled enough” to participate.

Who should step back?

Non-disabled allies and professional company representatives. While we appreciate your allyship, our goal for these events is to create a space where underrepresented artists feel they can speak openly about their experiences.

Accessibility

This 90-minute event takes place on Zoom with automatic captions; links will be sent out by email before the event. ASL-English interpretation is available on request; please email admin@looseteamusictheatre.com with interpreter requests by Monday, November 29th. Attendees are encouraged to feel comfortable turning their cameras on or off as they prefer, and to take breaks as needed. Registration for this event is FREE.

#HoldingSpace #MakingOperaAccessible

Enjoy more online programming

Discover Opera Mariposa’s latest digital offerings.